

# **Duval County Public Schools**

# January 26, 2010, Board Workshop

Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Chairman

Ms. Nancy Broner, Vice-Chairman

Ms. Martha Barrett

Ms. Betty Burney

Ms. Vicki Drake

Mr. W. C. Gentry

Mr. Tommy Hazouri

Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

ATTENDANCE AT THIS WORKSHOP OF THE DUVAL COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD: All Board Members were present, with the exception of Ms. Nancy Broner and Mr. W. C. Gentry. Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent, was also present.

Call Meeting To Order

## **CALL MEETING TO ORDER**

Minutes: The Chairman called the Board Workshop to order at 11:16 a.m.

#### Items To Be Discussed

# 1. BUDGET

#### Minutes:

The Superintendent reviewed the handout with the Board. A copy of the information is attached to the Minutes.

## Speakers:

Ms. Brenda A. Priestly Jackson, Board Chairman

Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Board Member

Mr. Doug Ayars, Chief Operating Officer

#### 2. DIFFERENTIATED ACCOUNTABILITY STRATEGIC IMPLEMENTATION PLAN

#### Minutes:

Ms. Lillie Granger made a presentation to the Board and explained the implementation plans.

#### Speakers:

Ms. Brenda A. Priestly Jackson, Board Chairman

Ms. Pat Willis, Chief Academic Officer

Ms. Lillie Granger

Ms. Betty Burney, Board member

Mr. Tony Bellamy

Ms. Kathy LeRoy, Chief Academic Officer Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

#### 3. FAIR ASSESSMENT

#### Minutes:

Ms. Jeannie Ballentine and Ms. Stephanie Johnson, FAIR Coordinator, provided the Board with an overview of the FAIR Assessment.

#### Speakers:

Ms. Brenda A. Priestly Jackson, Board Chairman

Ms. Jeannie Ballentine

Ms. Stephanie Johnson, FAIR Coordinator

Ms. Betty Burney, Board Member

Ms. Kathy LeRoy, Chief Academic Officer

Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Board Member

Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

Ms. Vicki Drake, Board Member

# 4. MAGNET SCHOOL UTILIZATION & MSAP GRANT CONCEPT

#### Minutes:

Dr. Sally Hague, Director of School Choice, provided the Board with an overview of the Magnet School Assistance Grant.

## Speakers:

Ms. Brenda A. Priestly Jackson, Board Chairman

Dr. Sally Hague, Director, School Choice

Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Board Member

Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

Ms. Martha Barrett, Board Member

Ms. Betty Burney, Board Member

Mr. Gary Bryan, Magnet Office

Mr. Tom O'Dea made a presentation on Magnet School utilization and a 90% cap idea for dedicated magnet schools. The decision was to continue to review with the idea of a 95% cap and to review schools on an individual basis exceptions. The Priority 1 issue will also be reviewed and information brought back to the Board at a future date.

#### Speakers:

Ms. Brenda A. Priestly Jackson, Board Chairman

Mr. Tom O'Dea, Director, Operations

Ms. Betty Burney, Board Member

Ms. Martha Barrett, Board Member

Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

Mr. Doug Ayars, Chief Operating Officer

Ms. Vicki Drake, Board Member

Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Board Chairman

## Adjournment

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

#### Minutes:

The Chairman adjourned the Board Workshop at 3:20 p.m.

**BSC** 

We Agree on this	
Superintendent	Chairman